Florida Newspapers

Bradenton Herald

The Bradenton Herald is a McClatchy newspaper in Bradenton, Florida. The Herald has been the hometown newspaper of Bradenton since 1922 when it was first published as The Evening Herald. It was a combination of two weekly papers: the Manatee River Journal, which had published since the 1880's, and The Bradenton Herald Weekly. The Evening Herald was published Monday through Saturday until 1926, when the Saturday publication was exchanged by a Sunday edition and the title was changed to The Bradenton Herald. In 1953 the Saturday edition started again. In 2006, The Bradenton Herald has released an edition known as the Lakewood Ranch Herald that concentrates on local coverage of the rapidly growing eastern region of Manatee County. Headquartered at 102 Manatee Avenue West in Bradenton, Florida, the paper is currently circulation 41, 237 on weekdays and 48,197 on Sunday. The publisher is Bob Turner and the editor is Joan Krauter.

Charlotte Sun Newspapers

The Sun is a group of newspapers published in Charlotte, Sarasota, DeSoto, Hardee, and Highlands counties, in southwestern and central Florida. Sun Coast Media Group newspapers include several "zoned editions" of the Charlotte Sun that cover coastal Charlotte County, Inland DeSoto, Hardee and Highlands counties. The approximately 50-person reporting staff at the home office on Harbor Boulevard in Port Charlotte covers the small communities of Punta Gorda, North Port, Englewood, Venice, Arcadia.The flagship newspaper, The Charlotte Sun, is a 30,000-circulation daily owned by the Dunn-Rankin family under the corporate group, Sun Coast Media Group. It is the last family owned daily newspaper in the state of Florida. In addition to the newspaper, family enterprises include networked business communications and a monthly, regional-lifestyle magazine, Harbor Style.

El Nuevo Herald

The El Nuevo Herald is a Spanish only McClatchy newspaper published daily in Miami, Florida. The sister paper for the El Nuevo Herald's is The Miami Herald, which is produced by the McClatchy Company as well. In 1987, the newspaper was re-launched as El Nuevo Herald and then finally was published as a standalone newspaper. El Nuevo Herald serves the nation's third-largest Hispanic market and can be found in the Miami-Dade, Broward, and Monroe counties. Even though the delivery area is mainly in the south Florida area, readers are also found in the Caribbean and Latin America. Major awards include the Ortega y Gasset journalism Award for the best Spanish-language newspaper in the world, in 2004 the Maria Moors Cabot Prize for outstanding reporting on Latin America, and in 2005 the GLADD National Award for an outstanding newspaper article.

Jackson County Floridan

The Jackson County Times is a weekly newspaper, published every Thursday. The Times has a laser focus on local, Jackson County content with features on businesses, agriculture, churches, schools, Sports, organizations, community news and persons of interest in our area. The printed version is delivered by the USPS, arriving on Thursday in most locations.

Miami Herald

The Miami Herald is a daily newspaper owned by Company headquartered on Biscayne Bay in the Omni district of Downtown Miami, Florida. Established in 1903, it is the largest newspaper in South Florida, serving Miami-Dade, Broward County and Monroe County, and circulates all over America and the Caribbean. The publisher of the Herald is David Landsberg and the editor is Aminda Marqes Gonzalez. The headquarters are located at 1 Herald Plaza in Miami, Florida. The average circulation of the Herald is 164,332 daily and 230,028 on Sundays. The newspaper has been awarded 20 Pulitzer Prizes since starting distribution in 1903. The first edition was published September 15, 1903, as The Miami Evening Record. McClatchy announced that the Herald and El Nuevo Herald would be moving to another location by 2013.

Orlando Sentinel

The Orlando Sentinel, founded in 1876, is the primary daily newspaper in Central Florida. Our mission is to deliver the truth every day. We bring you the stories that matter most, written without bias, so you can make informed decisions. The Orlando Sentinel has won many Pultizer prizes for editorial writing, investigative writing, and more. We are headquartered in Orlando Florida.

South Florida Sun Sentinel

The Sun Sentinel serves Broward and Palm Beach counties and is recognized as one of Florida's most innovative major daily newspapers with a reputation for journalistic excellence. In 2013, the Sun Sentinel was awarded the prestigious Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal for public service journalism for its investigation of off-duty police officers endangering the lives of citizens by speeding. With its variety of products, which includes print, online and broadcast, the media company has become a leader in cross-media advertising with customized solutions for every advertiser. In addition to serving South Florida's news and information needs, the Sun Sentinel also demonstrates its commitment to serving the community through the Sun Sentinel Children's Fund.

Tampa Bay Times

The origin of the Tampa Bay Times began with the West Hillsborough Times, a weekly newspaper established in Dunedin, Florida in 1884. The peninsula was part of Hillsborough County. The paper was published weekly in the back of a pharmacy and had a circulation of 480. It subsequently changed ownership six times in seventeen years. In December 1884 it was bought by A.C. Turner, who moved it to what is now called Clearwater, Florida. In 1898 it was officially renamed the St. Petersburg Times. The Times became a bi-weekly newspaper in 1907, and began publication six days a week in 1912. Indiana Publisher Paul Poynter bought the paper in September 1912 and published it seven days a week. The paper was rarely financially stable. Paul's son became editor in 1939 and took majority control of the paper in 1947. He then set out to improve the paper's finances and prestige. Nelson Poynter controlled the paper until his death in 1978, when he willed the majority of the stock to the non-profit Poynter Institute. The Evening Independent was merged into the Times in November 1986. Poynter was succeeded by Eugene Patterson (1978 to 1988), Andrew Barnes (1988 to 2004) and Paul C. Tash (2004 to present).